FIFA Best Awards: Ronaldo, Messi and Lewandowski Make Final Shortlist

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski are the three- Finalists for the 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player award. The three players were revealed today 11 December 2020 on FIFA’s verified Twitter handle. The selection criteria for the three players was their respective achievements during the period from 20 July 2019 to 7 October 2020.

On November 25, a shortlist of 11 players including Kevin De Bruyne, Sadio Mane, Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, Sergio Ramos, Mohamed Salah, Thiago Alcantara and Virgil van Dijk was unveiled for the prize. Lewandowski is considered the favorite for this year’s award after helping his club win the treble while breaking goal scoring records. Ronaldo claimed the prize in both 2016 and 2017, when he dominated the voting after leading Real Madrid to successive Champions League trophies. Messi, meanwhile, is the reigning holder of the prize but is widely regarded to have had a disappointing year where his club went trophyless Lewandowski is now in the final three against Messi and Ronaldo and the winner will be announced on December 17.Lewandowski speaking to OLE admits the competition is fierce. “If you scored a lot of goals and won everything and were at the top, I don’t think there’s anyone I can compare myself to,” the Pole said. “I just focus and think about the next challenge, and so on. If I win the award, of course I will be happy because I know everything I did, that it was for the team, and I know that it will be a decision of the fans and the journalists who vote. “It would be a unique feeling. If I won The Best it would be something spectacular for me and an award for the whole team, because I know how well we played. “What we did last season, for me, was incredible and I think we were the best. We are the best, there is no doubt. And we want to stay in that place “It’s always special to win a FIFA award, a dream. Personally, I know how hard I worked and pushed myself to have the year I had. If you love what you do, it is possible to get the prize. “But I insist, winning it would be a prize for the whole team. Bayern had an unbeatable year.”

Read Also:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Sorry, This Page Has Been Protected, Make Use of Social Media Share Button. Thanks!
Open chat
Powered by: Team Boma Reports
Thanks for contacting Team Boma Reports.